The Whole Food Shebang

Eating With Integrity

Cuppow Canning Jar Lid: The most kick-ass little guy around.

I love canning jars – they’re great! No worries about BPA or what number of plastic you’re exposing you stored food to (Leeching chemicals? Yuck!). And now, I can take a fresh, delicious juice or smoothie with me to work in a big ‘ole mason jar – four cups of healthy deliciousness – and not worry about spilling it all over my desk when I take the jar lid off to drink it. Why, you ask? Answer: Cuppow!!

The best thing since my vegan macaroon recipe? Hell yes! “But what is it?”, you ask?

Cuppow canning jar lid with sipping hole.

This little guy is awesome!

Cuppow is a lid that fits under the screw-on ring of a canning jar, providing a wonderful little sippy hole through which liquids – smoothies and juices alike! – smoothly flow. Just remove the solid insert and replace with the BPA-free Cuppow. Moment of reverence, please.

Even now, as I’m writing about how much I LOVE this gadget, I’m using my cuppow to enjoy a delicious beverage. Don’t believe me? Check it:

My Cuppow In Action

BananaAppleBerry Juice = Yum!

No, I don’t get paid to advertise the Cuppow – though if the makers are interested, feel free to message me through my Facebook page ;). It’s just that I enjoy mine so much that I had to shout it from the virtual rooftops. And now I have … mission accomplished.

And BTW, I know that many of you are juicing and cleansing for the new year, as am I. Since sharing is caring, what is your favorite juice or smoothie recipe? I’ll share a fav of mine to get the ball rolling:

Terrific Banana Apple Berry Juice

Yield: 4 C liquid – the perfect amount to fit in a large canning jar.

1.5 C filtered water

1 ripe organic banana – peeled

1 organic apple, cut into chunks (type doesn’t matter, though different varieties will change the overall taste of the juice. Experiment to see which type you enjoy best … I prefer Braeburn or Gala.)

3/4 C frozen organic strawberries

1/2 C frozen organic blueberries

Combine items in a powerful blender (mine’s a Vitamix – love it!), let ‘er rip for about 2-3 minutes on a high setting so that the apple skin gets pulverized and the frozen fruit incorporated. Pour into a large canning jar, top with a Cuppow, and enjoy! 

Penny For Your Thoughts ...

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2013 by in #Cleansing, #Recipes, JustPlainAwesome! and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog & receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories